Education in Scotland is delivered through Curriculum for Excellence, which aims to develop the four capacities in our children and young people:

  • Confident Individuals
  • Successful Learners
  • Effective Contributors
  • Responsible Citizens

These four capacities reflect the purpose of Curriculum for Excellence, the aim of which is to provide our children and young people with the best possible teaching and learning experiences that are more relevant to the changing world. 

Curriculum for Excellence has been designed to ensure that children and young people are as fully engaged in their learning as possible whether in early years, primary or secondary school. It brings real life into the classroom and takes lessons beyond the classroom. It promises to support children and young people so that they can fulfil their potential and make the most of their opportunities.

How is the Curriculum organised in schools?

Curriculum for Excellence is organised into eight curricular areas:

  • Expressive Arts
  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Languages
  • Mathematics
  • Religious and Moral Education
  • Sciences
  • Social studies
  • Technologies

Learning is set in four contexts:

  • Curricular areas
  • Inter-disciplinary learning where learning in different curricular areas is linked
  • Ethos and life of the school or nursery as a community
  • Wider achievement - learning out of school can be shared in school

Where can I find more information?

More information is available on the Education Scotland and Parentzone websites.

See also: