Curriculum for Excellence

What is Curriculum for Excellence?

Curriculum for Excellence (CfE) is an approach to teaching which is interactive between teachers and those children and young people with whom they are working. CfE provides increased opportunities to link across different curricular areas, e.g. Planet Earth draws on Sciences but could also include Geography and Mathematics. Children and young people will experience a broad range of learning at an appropriate level of challenge and have opportunities to apply their skills and knowledge in a variety of situations.

How will my child progress through Curriculum for Excellence?

Children and young people's learning will progress through six Curricular Levels from the ages of 3 to 18. Each of the levels generally spans three years. However, children progress at different rates and some may take longer or need additional support, while others will achieve confident learning skills sooner.

In general:

  • The Early Level covers the early years in nursery and Primary 1
  • The First Level covers Primary 2 to Primary 4
  • The Second Level runs until the end of Primary 7
  • The Third and Fourth Levels cover from Secondary 1 to Secondary 3
  • The Senior Phase runs from Secondary 4 to Secondary 6 in school and college, or other means of study, up until the age of 18.

How does the Curriculum prepare my child for the future?

  • The curriculum will help children and young people develop skills for learning, skills for life and skills for work.
  • Every teacher will be responsible for literacy and numeracy - skills that unlock other subjects and are vital to every day life.
  • Every teacher will look after our children's health and wellbeing.
  • Teachers will work together to plan a child's 'learning journey' from 3-18, helping them move from nursery to primary, on to secondary and beyond, ensuring they can learn in a way that works for them, at a pace they can cope with and with challenges they can thrive on.

See also: