Nominations are now open for the 2020 Stirling Provost Awards.
Provost Award Winners

The accolades recognise individuals, groups or organisations who have made significant contributions to communities, or who have achieved national success in their field.

Provost Christine Simpson will host the event at the iconic Stirling Castle on Friday, October 2. The deadline for nominations is Wednesday, May 27.

Unsung heroes

The Provost said: “This event gives us the opportunity to recognise some of the many unsung heroes in our communities and the awards night is always a memorable and humbling occasion.

“It’s important we show our appreciation for these inspiring individuals whose hard work and dedication often goes unrewarded and unheralded.”

A Tourism category has been included for the first time to reward those who are dedicated and passionate promoters of Stirling as a visitor destination.

The other categories are Arts and Culture, Sport, Academic, Community, Volunteer Sector, Youth and Special Achievement.

A must-visit destination

The Provost added: “With our world-class attractions, rich history, stunning countryside and jam-packed events calendar, tourism is a vital part of the local economy.

“There are a number of individuals, however, who go above and beyond to ensure that Stirling continues to be a must-visit destination, and it is fitting that we take the opportunity to celebrate their success.

“So if you know someone who goes the extra mile, a deserving group or organisation, I would encourage you to put them forward so we can recognise their achievements and hopefully inspire others to make a difference in their communities.”

Nomination forms and category info

The criteria for each category and the nomination form can be found on the Stirling Council website.

Nomination forms can also be obtained via:
E-mail –
Post – Mary Bright, PA to the Provost, Stirling Council, Room 61, Old Viewforth, Stirling, FK8 2ET.
Phone – 01786 233069.

Picture details:

Picture shows the award winners, alongside Provost Christine Simpson, from the most recent Provost Awards which took place in 2018.