Jun 2021 AGM Minutes

Download or view in pdf format


Alan Booth Secretary

Woodlea, Perth Road Dunblane

FK15 0BU

Tel: 01786824791

David Prescott

Chair Broomfield Smithy Loan FK15 0HQ

Tel: 01786 822848


Annual General Meeting


Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Dunblane Community Council held on Wednesday. 2 June, 2021, at 7 p.m., held remotely via Zoom.


Present: David Prescott (Chairman), Alan Booth (Secretary), Chris Toop (Treasurer), Karen Jenkins, Fiona Plumtree, Craig French, James Byrne, Andy Mitchell.

In attendance: David Chisholm, Ailsa Gray, Councillors Graham Houston and Alasdair Tollemache, Margaret Bragg (Minutes Secretary).

1. Apologies.

Apologies have been received from Rosemary Hunter, Graham Mowat and Sharon Mylchreest.

2. Minutes of the last AGM held on 2 December 2020

These were approved, proposed by Alan Booth and seconded by Chris Toop.

3. Chairman's Annual Report (2020-21): See attached.

Meetings have been held via Zoom, including the delayed AGM of last year, held in December, under Stirling Council's Temporary Amendments to the Community Council Establishment arrangements. The Chairman thanked Anna Jarchow- MacDonald and Christina Feaks, who have resigned over the last year, for their work on the community council and noted the need to recruit more councillors. A record of attendance, or submitted apologies, is included and the Chairman thanked all community councillors and the three elected Councillors who have taken forward issues on behalf of the community council.


Because of changes in commuter travel, the Community Parking Action Plan is still delayed, while the Local Rail Development Fund Project has been curtailed as it was not addressing the needs of the town. However, useful studies were undertaken into parking and active travel routes. Meanwhile, the proposals brought forward from the Spaces for People consultation, including the new 20 mph limits, are being introduced.

On-going discussions are being held with Stirling Council to improve road clearing and gritting during wintry weather. A detailed report was submitted by Terence O'Byrne and thanks were expressed for his work on this.

Under the Council's Participatory Budgeting projects, the outdoor gym and footway improvements have been completed and the more accessible toilets in the Library and Burgh Chambers are in the planning process. The community council is supporting a group, with Steve Mason, looking at better community use of the Burgh Chambers.

Proposals for town twinning have made little progress. The community council still holds the Scottish and Southern Energy Resilience Fund of £1,500 to use to support any wider Covid community need going forward. Part of the Dunblane Young People's Project Fund has been used to contribute to an outdoor classroom at Newton Primary School

The Barbush development, which will include 27 Council houses, is nearing completion, while the proposed development at Montgomery Crescent has been approved. The Park of Keir application has not reached agreement yet. There is increased pressure north of Dunblane - on Auchinlay Road, the Glassingall estate and Firs of Kinbuck. A Judicial Review, led by local residents, overturned a Planning Panel Decision to approve the latter proposals, and the application is live once again.

Glassingall House was destroyed by fire during demolition and the associated court case will be heard later this year.

In response to a query from the Secretary whether there is a restriction on the number of virtual community council meetings allowed by Stirling Council, the Chairman will raise this with Stephen Bly (Community Link Officer, Stirling Council).

4. Treasurer's Report: See attached.

The Treasurer reported that the main expenditure has been the £2,500 contribution to Blossom House outdoor classroom at Newton Primary School. He sent off the accounts for auditing in April, but, despite various attempts, has been unable to reach the accountant since then. The accounts are complete but not verified or audited yet. The Treasurer hopes that this will be settled before the next meeting of the community council in August.

5. Resignation of current office-bearers and election of office-bearers

Councillor Houston conducted the election. The following were elected, there being no alternative candidates for the posts:


Chairman: David Prescott, proposed by James Byrne and seconded by Craig French. Secretary: Alan Booth, proposed by David Prescott and seconded by James Byrne.

Treasurer: Chris Toop, proposed by James Byrne and seconded by Fiona Plumtree. Planning Correspondent: David Prescott, proposed by Alan Booth and seconded by James Byrne.

It was agreed that the post of Vice-Chairman will be agreed at a later date. The Chairman thanked Councillor Houston for conducting the election.

Councillor Houston, on behalf of Councillors Dodds, Tollemache and himself, thanked David Prescott as Chairman and the rest of the community councillors for their work for the town, especially during this difficult year. He acknowledged that people did not appreciate or recognise the time and effort this took.

The next AGM of the community council will take place on Wednesday, 1 June, 2022.