June 2022 AGM Minutes

Download or view in pdf format


Dunblane Community Council

Alan Booth
Woodlea, Perth Road
FK15 0BU
Tel: 01786824791
David Prescott
Smithy Loan
FK15 0HQ
Tel: 01786 822848

Annual General Meeting

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Dunblane Community Council held on Wednesday, 1 June, 2022, at 7 p.m. in the Burgh Chambers,
Dunblane. This was a "blended" meeting with some attendees joining via Zoom.
Present: David Prescott (Chairman), Alan Booth (Secretary), Ailsa Gray, Graham Mowat. Joining by Zoom: Sharon Mylchreest, Craig French, Chris Toop (Treasurer).
In attendance: Councillors Alasdair Tollemache and Graham Houston, Terence O'Byrne, Annelise Bakri, Margaret Bragg (Minutes Secretary). Joining by Zoom: Councillor Ewan Dillon, and Bridget Clark.
1. Apologies
Apologies have been received from Andy Mitchell, Karen Jenkins, Fiona Plumtree and Councillor Dodds.
2. Minutes of the last AGM held on 2 June, 2021
These were approved, proposed by Alan Booth and seconded by Chris Toop.
3. Chairman's Annual Report (2021-2022): See attached.
Since March 2020, all meetings have been held by Zoom with participation by residents as they wished. David Prescott has decided to step down as Chairman at this meeting and the Treasurer has also stated his intention to resign in the near future. Ailsa Gray has joined the community council but there is still a need for new members.
The Chairman thanked the support given by three of the four ward Councillors and congratulated Councillor Dodds on becoming Provost of Stirling after the recent elections. He also welcomed the newly-elected Councillor Ewan Dillon.
The implementation of the Community Parking Action Plan continues to be delayed and the Scottish Government's "Spaces for People" programme has not achieved a satisfactory outcome with the cycle lanes on the B8033.
The final project under Stirling Council's Participatory Budgeting scheme, the provision of more accessible toilets in the Library and Burgh Chambers, has been completed.
The community council has supported the newly formed Burgh Chambers Group with its plan to set up a Digital Makerspace in the building.
Terence O'Byrne was thanked for his efforts in working with Stirling Council on behalf of the community council to improve winter maintenance and gritting. The Chairman and Terence O'Byrne have worked together in engaging with Scottish Water in attempts to reduce the traffic disruption caused by the sewer improvements.
Turning to planning matters, the application for the Park of Keir development was finally approved but the Chairman noted that there will still be challenges to ensure that the original plan is adhered to. The fire at Glassingall resulted
in a fine for the contractor. The Victoria Park Development at Barbush is nearing completion and the plans for the development at Montgomery
Crescent have been revised, with the community council objecting to the removal of bungalows from the plan. The application for services on the A9 at Firs of Kinbuck was rejected by the Scottish Government Reporter on appeal.
In conclusion, the Chairman thanked all the community councillors for their support during his three years of chairmanship. He thanked the Secretary for organising the Zoom meetings and the Minutes Secretary for her support.
4. Treasurer's Report: See attached.
The Scottish and Southern Energy Resilience Fund of £1,500 has been used to support the community during and after the pandemic. Alasdair Taylor, Treasurer of the Bridge of Allan community council, has audited and signed off the accounts and thanks were expressed to him for this. The accounts were accepted, proposed by the Secretary and seconded by Ailsa Gray. The
Treasurer will forward them to Stirling Council.
The Treasurer indicated his intention to resign from the community council but is willing to continue in the short term until a replacement is agreed.
Thanks were expressed for his work over the years and his flexibility in continuing until his replacement is in post.
5. Resignation of current office-holders and election of office-bearers
Councillor Houston, on behalf of Stirling Council, conducted the election. On behalf of everyone, he expressed thanks to David Prescott who was standing down as Chairman. He noted that there have been many challenges, particularly in planning issues, and David Prescott has ensured that different voices in the community have been heard.
The following were elected, there being no alternative candidates for the
Chair: Ailsa Gray, proposed by Alan Booth and seconded by David Prescott.
Secretary: Alan Booth, proposed by David Prescott and seconded by Graham Mowat.
Treasurer: Chris Toop, proposed by David Prescott and seconded by Alan Booth.
Planning Correspondent: This will be decided at a future meeting.
Vice-Chair: This will be decided at a future meeting.
It was noted that the post of Treasurer will also become vacant in the near future.
Councillor Houston was thanked for conducting the election.
The next AGM of the community council will take place on Wednesday, 7 June