Nursery terms and holidays

Some nurseries and childminders follow the school calendar, whilst others stay open during many of the holidays. Find out about the different holiday models, and read the latest term dates.

Overview

Nurseries and childminders in the Stirling Council area use different holiday 'models'. Depending on the model they use, they'll either:

  • open in line with the school calendar, and close when schools do
  • close less often than schools, and stay open during many of the school holidays

The different models are:

  • model 1, which is when a nursery or childminder is open for 48.2 weeks and closed for 19 days
  • model 2, which is when a nursery or childminder is open for 45.6 weeks and closed for 32 days
  • model 3/4, which is when a nursery or childminder is open for 38 weeks and closed for 70 days

If you’re unsure which model your nursery or childminder uses, and they're not listed on this page, contact them to ask.

Find contacts for nurseries in the Stirling Council area

Find contacts for childminders in the Stirling Council area

Model 1 nurseries and childminders

Model 1 nurseries and childminders are:

  • open for 48.2 weeks
  • closed for 19 days

Nurseries in this category include:

Model 1 opening dates, 2022–23

Date Event
Monday 15 August 2022 In-service (2 days)
Wednesday 17 August 2022 Children return
Monday 26 December 2022 Christmas/New Year holiday (7 days)
Wednesday 4 January 2023 Children return
Monday 13 February 2023 In-service (2 days)
Wednesday 15 February 2023 Children return
Friday 7 April 2023 Local holiday (2 days)
Tuesday 11 April 2023 Spring holiday
Monday 17 April 2023 Children return
Friday 28 April 2023 In-service (1 day)
Monday 1 May 2023 Local holiday (1 day)

Model 2 nurseries and childminders

Model 2 nurseries and childminders are:

  • open for 45.6 weeks
  • closed for 32 days

Nurseries in this category include:

Model 2 nursery opening dates, 2022–23

Date Event
Monday 15 August 2022 In-service (2 days)
Wednesday 17 August 2022 Children return
Monday 26 December 2022 Christmas/New Year holiday (7 days)
Wednesday 4 January 2023 Children return
Monday 13 February 2023 In-service (2 days)
Wednesday 15 February 2023 Children return
Friday 7 April 2023 Local holiday (2 days)
Tuesday 11 April 2023 Spring holiday (4 days)
Monday 17 April 2023 Children return
Friday 28 April 2023 In-service (1 day)
Monday 1 May 2023 Local holiday (1 day)

Model 2 summer break dates

Model 2 nurseries will also be closed for 13 days during summer 2023. You can find out the exact dates for a specific nursery by contacting them.

Find contacts for nurseries in the Stirling Council area

Model 3/4 nurseries and childminders

Model 3/4 nurseries and childminders are:

  • open for 38 weeks
  • closed for 70 days

Nurseries in this category include:

Model 3/4 nursery opening dates, 2022–23

Date Event
Monday 15 August 2022 In-service (2 days)
Wednesday 17 August 2022 Children return
Monday 10 October 2022 October holiday (10 days)
Monday 24 October 2022 Children return
Friday 23 December 2022 Christmas/New Year holiday (11 days)
Monday 9 January 2023 Children return
Monday 13 February 2023 In-service (2 days)
Wednesday 15 February 2023 Local holiday (3 days)
Monday 20 February 2023 Children return
Monday 3 April 2023 Spring holiday (10 days)
Monday 17 April 2023 Children return
Friday 28 April 2023 In-service (1 day)
Monday 1 May 2023 Local holiday (1 day)
Monday 3 July 2023 Summer holiday begins
August 2023 In-service (2 days, dates to be confirmed)
Contents